What Should I Do After A Self-Driving Car Accident in Georgia?

Thanks to advanced technology, self-driving cars are becoming more common. Self-driving cars use advanced technology, such as radar, GPS, odometry, computer vision, and laser vision to sense its surroundings. If this technology malfunctions, it can lead to an accident.

When it comes to auto accidents, you can pursue a personal injury claim if you can prove that the other driver acted negligently. In this case, you would proof that the self-driving car did not work as it should and it led to an accident that caused the damages you suffered.

You should speak with a Georgia personal injury attorney if you have been involved in a crash with a self-driving vehicle.

How Negligence Comes into Play

For a successful personal injury claim, you need to prove that the other party was negligent. There are four elements of negligence. These elements are duty, breach, causation, and damages. If you can show those four things, then negligence has been proven.

When a driver is operating a vehicle, there is a duty to act with care, so others are not injured. If that duty is breached an accident takes place, you need to show that the ensuing accident caused the damages that were suffered.

As an example, you had a green light and were passing through an intersection when a self-driving car ran a red light and crashed into your vehicle breaking your arm. That scenario meets all four elements of negligence. In Georgia, self-contributory negligence is used.

What To Do If I Was in A Self-Driving Car Accident in Georgia?

Georgia Accident and Insurance Laws

Self-contributory negligence allows a driver to recover damages for an accident as long as he or she is no more than half at fault for the crash. This means that if you are both 50% at fault, you can recover compensation for your damages from the other driver.

However, if you are 51% at fault, you cannot recover compensation for the damages that resulted. Damages will be reduced by your proportion of fault. So, if you are in an accident that leads to $40,000 in damages and you are 50% at fault, you can only recover the amount of damages that the other driver is responsible for. In this case, that would be $20,000.

In Georgia, drivers are required to maintain auto insurance coverage. The bodily injury liability coverage minimums are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Property damage liability coverage must include $25,000 per person.

The uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage required is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. If you drive without insurance, a first-time offense can leave you facing a minimum fine of $200 and a driver’s license suspension for 60 days.

For a second offense within five years, you will face a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license, vehicle tag and auto registration.

Speak with A Georgia Personal Injury Attorney

If you have been involved in an accident with a self-driving vehicle in Georgia, you should consult with a personal injury attorney. In Georgia, there is a two-year statute of limitations to pursue a claim for personal injury after an accident.

Complete the Free Case Evaluation Form to get a free review of your accident injury case today.

Additional Resources