We hope you find this information helpful!

If you need help with your personal injury case, click here.

Filing a Family Dollar Slip and Fall Claim in Connecticut*

Filing a Family Dollar Slip and Fall Claim in Connecticut

As a type of premises liability law, a Connecticut slip and fall that occurs at a discount store such as Family Dollar can cause injuries that range from mild to life-threatening. If you sustained one or more injuries as a result of a Family Dollar, or any other discount store, slip and fall, you should meet with a premises liability attorney to determine whether your case might be strong enough to file a Connecticut personal injury claim. A lawyer can gather and organize persuasive evidence that could convince either the store’s attorney to settle out of court or a civil court judge to approve your request for monetary damages.

What Are Connecticut Slip and Fall Laws?

If you slipped and fell at a discount store, the store might be held liable for violating a premises liability statute. As a form of personal injury law, premises liability refers to an incident that causes one or more injuries that happen on another party’s property.

Connecticut premises liability statutes hold property owners legally liable for not taking the steps required to ensure optimal safety. The types of slip and fall incidents that fall under the premises liability legal umbrella include slick floor surfaces, ice accumulation at an entrance, and an electrical cord that runs across the width of a discount store’s interior.

Connecticut operates under the comparative negligence doctrine. This doctrine assigns fault for a personal injury incident corresponding to the percentage each party contributed to causing the incident. This means that, if the finder of fact (i.e., a judge or jury) hearing your case were to assign you 20 percent of the fault for slipping and falling at a discount store such as Family Dollar, the judge would then deduct 20 percent from the total value of your monetary damages. For example, a monetary damages award valued at $50,000 would be decreased by 20 percent ($10,000) to a value of $40,000 under the comparative negligence doctrine in Connecticut.

How Long Do I Have to File a Slip and Fall Claim Against a Discount Store in CT?

Each state has established a deadline for plaintiffs to file personal injury lawsuits. Connecticut’s statute of limitations for personal injury cases is set at two years. This means that, Connecticut’s two year statute of limitations clock starts ticking on a civil lawsuit on the day that you sustained injuries because of a slip and fall incident that occurred in this state. Although two years appears to be more than enough time for you to file a civil lawsuit, it is important to act with a sense of urgency so that you are best able to possibly recover the financial losses generated by a Family Dollar, or any other discount store, slip and fall.

Failing to file a personal injury lawsuit before the two-year expiration of Connecticut’s statute of limitations results in the dismissal of your case.

What Do I Need To Prove in My Claim Against a Discount Store in CT?

Submitting physical evidence is the key to filing a convincing personal injury lawsuit. Video footage recorded by a discount store’s security camera system represents the most compelling type of physical evidence. Your personal injury lawyer can file a formal request to receive copies of the original footage from the store.

Another type of important evidence concerns medical bills and records. The results of accurately dated diagnostic tests demonstrate when you sustained the injuries, as well as the extent of each injury, to the court. Finally, witness statements can provide legal support for the evidence collected at the scene of the discount store slip and fall accident.

Interested in learning more about how to file a personal injury claim in Connecticut? Fill out a Free Case Evaluation today to get connected with an independent, participating attorney who subscribes to the website.

*Disclaimer: The content of this article serves only to provide information and should not be construed as legal advice. If you file a claim against Family Dollar or any other party, you may not be entitled to any compensation.

Additional Resources

Do You Need Help Getting Justice In Your State?

Find out more below.


  • Arkansas    
  • California    
  • Connecticut    
  • Florida    
  • Georgia    
  • Idaho    
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana    
  • Maryland    
  • Massachusetts   
  • Michigan   
  • Missouri    
  • Montana    
  • Nevada    
  • New Hampshire    
  • New Jersey    
  • New Mexico    
  • New York    
  • South Carolina    
  • Texas    
  • Utah    
  • Virginia    
  • West Virginia    
  • Wisconsin    
  • Wyoming