If you have suffered personal injury in an accident in Alaska, you may be able to pursue a personal injury claim against the liable party to recover compensation for your damages. You will need to provide supporting evidence that details what happened, and you will also need to show that you were not at fault for the accident and that the liability falls upon someone else. Documentation and evidence are essential to the success of your personal injury claim.
How Do I File a Claim in Alaska?
If you have been injured in a personal injury accident in Alaska that was caused by the negligence of another party, you will need to get a personal injury claim underway. You should gather all the supporting evidence and documentation then you will need to get your claim underway in a timely manner.
Your first step will be to send a demand letter to the insurer of the other party. You must indicate how much you are asking for damages and why the other party is liable for your losses. The more supporting evidence you have, the more likely you are to have a successful claim.
What Are the Statute Of Limitations in Alaska?
Every state has a statute of limitations – or a time limit – for personal injury claims being filed. In Alaska, In Alaska, you have two years from the date of the accident to pursue a personal injury claim, which includes products liability and medical malpractice lawsuits.
Alaska also has a discovery rule, which comes into play. Under that rule, the statute of limitations starts running when the injured person discovers or should have discovered the existence of the injury they suffered.
How Do I Prove Negligence in Alaska?
In Alaska, pure comparative negligence is used. This means that even if you are partly to blame for the accident, you may still be able to sue for damages and recover compensation for your losses. This means that you can only collect the damages that the other party is liable for.
As an example, if you suffered $200,000 in damages and you were 25% liable for the accident, then you could only recover 75% of your losses – or $150,000 from the other party. You will need evidence, such as an accident report, witness statements, photos of the accident scene, and so forth to prove that the other party acted negligently.
What Kind of Compensation Can I Receive in Alaska?
You can ask to be compensated for your damages. Those damages may include lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, mental anguish, permanent scarring and disfigurement, property damages, and so forth. You will need evidence, such as medical bills, repair estimates, and proof of missed work to support your claim and show your losses.
How Do I Get Personal Injury Help in Alaska?
You will need to get your claim underway in a timely manner. A personal injury lawyer can be a real asset to your claim. A personal injury lawyer can investigate your claim and gather supporting evidence and documentation. Complete the Free Case Evaluation today to get in contact with an independent, participating attorney who subscribes to the website.