Anyone who has been unlucky and suffered from a personal injury in Massachusetts may be eligible for compensation by filing a Massachusetts personal injury claim.
There are many types of accidents when personal injuries may take place like auto accidents, slip and falls, motor cycle accidents, truck accidents and many more.
As long as you have enough evidence that proves the other person or entity was at fault and caused your injury you should be eligible to file a personal injury claim in Massachusetts which should cover the financial loss due to the injury.
In Massachusetts you should receive the full cost of all medical treatment, the cost of repairs to your motor vehicle (if applicable), any lost wages while you can’t work and an amount calculated to cover pain and suffering which often exceeds the value of the medical treatment.
However, you may require some Massachusetts personal injury help to ensure you get the personal injury compensation that you deserve.
How Do I File a Claim in Massachusetts?
Before deciding to file a personal injury claim you should be absolutely sure you have the right amount of evidence which supports your claim which proves you weren’t the cause of the accident.
You also need to consider the state’s statute of limitations which is the time you are allowed to file a personal injury claim. In Massachusetts, somebody who has been injured is given 3 years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit against the person or entity that is at fault.
How Do I Prove Negligence in Massachusetts?
Proving negligence in a personal injury claim typically depends on the proof you provide. These are a few different sorts of evidence that could be used to support your personal injury claim. These could include:
- your physician’s report with your diagnosis and potential recovery time;
- eye witnesses reports;
- medical treatment receipts;
- photos taken off nearby security cameras, if possible;
- photos taken at the scene of the accident;
- the police report about the accident.
Massachusetts is a "no-fault state" when it comes to injuries in car accidents. This means that your personal Massachusetts car accident insurer pays up to $8,000 of your medical bills, regardless of who was found to be at fault.
The name for these types of benefits is First-Party Benefits. They may be paid to anybody who is injured due to the ownership, maintenance, operation, or use of a motor vehicle.
What Kind of Compensation Can I Receive in Massachusetts?
There are two main types of damages in a personal injury claim which are economic and non-economic damages. Economic damages are countable in cash terms and are the amount of money the injured person has either lost due to the injury or is having to pay out due to the injury.
Economic damages may include the following:
- medical bills;
- property damage;
- lost wages;
- lost earning capacity.
Non-economic damages could include:
- disfigurement caused by the injury;
- emotional distress;
- loss of enjoyment in life;
- pain and suffering;
- physical impairment (such as loss of the use of a limb or organ).
Some states cap the amount of damages that can be claimed in a personal injury claim but California doesn’t except in cases of medical malpractice where the cap is set at $250,000 for pain and suffering and other non-economic damages.
How Do I Get Personal Injury Help in Massachusetts?
What influences the winning of a successful personal injury claim the most in Massachusetts is making sure the evidence provided proves without a reasonable doubt who or what caused your accident.
It is important to get personal injury help in Massachusetts and a personal injury attorney has the experience to assess and win a favorable personal injury claim on your behalf.
The attorney will carefully go through all the evidence and provide all the personal injury help in Massachusetts by putting in all the necessary effort to get the personal injury compensation you are entitled to receive.