Anyone who has had the misfortune to have been injured in Minnesota may be entitled to compensation by filing a Minnesota personal injury claim. There are so many different kinds of accidents that cause personal injuries but typically the most common in Minnesota are auto accidents, slip and falls, motor cycle accidents, truck accidents and many more.
You need to put together sufficient evidence to prove who caused your injury and then you should be entitled to file a personal injury claim in Minnesota which covers the financial hardship caused to you by the injury.
In Minnesota, with a personal injury claim you can expect to receive the full cost of all your medical treatment, the cost of repairs to your motor vehicle (if applicable), any lost wages while you are unable to work and a calculation for the pain and suffering which you have had to endure due to an injury that was not your fault.
Minnesota personal injury help ensures you get the personal injury compensation you deserve.
How Do I File a Claim in Minnesota?
Before you bite the bullet and start the process for filing a personal injury claim you must be absolutely sure you have all the evidence you need to prove that you were in no way to blame for the accident.
You should also consider Minnesota state statute of limitations which is the time you are given to file a personal injury claim from the date the injury actually took place. In Minnesota a person who has been injured is given 2 years from the injury date to file a lawsuit against the person or entity which is at fault and caused the injury.
How Do I Prove Negligence in Minnesota?
Proving negligence is crucial in a personal injury claim so for your claim to be a success it could depend on the evidence you provide. These are several types of evidence that can be gathered together in order to support your personal injury claim such as:
- your physician’s medical report including your diagnosis and estimated recovery time;
- the police report written about the accident;
- reports both written and oral provided by eye witnesses;
- receipts for medical treatment you have already paid for;
- photos retrieved from nearby surveillance cameras, if possible;
- photographs taken at the scene of the accident.
In a few personal injury cases, it may be argued that the person injured is actually to blame or partly to blame for causing the accident. Under Minnesota’s contributory negligence law, an injured victim may recover compensation that is proportionate to his or her degree of fault, as long as they are not more than 50 percent responsible for their injury.
A victim of an injury is not allowed to recover compensation if his or her fault is 51 percent or more.
What Kind of Compensation Can I Receive in Minnesota?
There are typically two main kinds of damages in all personal injury claims. These are economic and non-economic damages. Economic damages can be calculated in cash terms and is the amount of money the injured person has either lost because of the injury or is having to pay out because of the injury.
Economic damages may include the following: medical treatment bills, property damage, lost wages, lost earning capacity.
Non-economic damages could include:
- disfigurement caused by the injury;
- emotional distress caused by the injury;
- inconvenience caused by the injury;
- loss of enjoyment in life;
- pain and suffering;
- physical impairment, such as the loss of the use of a limb or organ.
How Do I Get Personal Injury Help in Minnesota?
What is vital for winning a successful personal injury claim in Minnesota is making sure the evidence provided proves without a reasonable doubt who or what caused your accident and injury.
Once you have that gathered together, it is important to get personal injury help in Minnesota from a personal injury attorney who has the experience to evaluate and win a favorable personal injury settlement on your behalf.
The attorney will carefully go through all the evidence and provide all the personal injury help in Minnesota, by putting in all the necessary effort to get the personal injury compensation you are entitled to receive. A personal injury attorney knows how to negotiate on your behalf with the at-fault person’s insurer which is something you would find hard to achieve.