We hope you find this information helpful!

If you need help with your personal injury case, click here.

Finding a Personal Injury Attorney in Des Moines, Iowa

If you have been injured in Des Moines through no fault of your own and you weren’t at work, you may be able to file a claim for compensation as long as you can provide proof that someone else was to blame for your injuries.

Personal injury claims are never easy to make, but a successful compensation payment can really make a difference when faced by a hefty medical bill and you have spent a lot of time off work because of the injury. Discuss the possibility of a claim with an experienced Des Moines personal injury attorney.

Choosing a Personal Injury Attorney in Des Moines

You are spoilt for choice in Des Moines as there are over 250 attorneys who can offer legal assistance with a personal injury claim. It is always preferable to check that the attorney you are about to select has a license to operate in Iowa and has specialized in personal injury cases of a similar type to yours before.

Typical Injuries in Des Moines

The most common injuries in Des Moines are caused when you slip or trip over and fall and injure yourself. They can happen anywhere.

Typical slip, trip and fall injuries happen when the ground surface is uneven or slippery or the lighting is poor and you find it difficult to see where to put your feet. If you are in a supermarket where something has been spilled recently, this can be the cause of a nasty fall.

More serious injuries tend to be caused by vehicle accidents. You may be a pedestrian on a Des Moines sidewalk, a bicyclist, a motorcyclist or in your own car when someone hits you unexpectedly. Vehicle accidents are often caused by negligent drivers. Typical reasons for a Des Moines vehicle accident are:

  • Distracted driving;
  • Speeding;
  • Failure to stop at an intersection;
  • Intoxication or inability to concentrate due to the effect of drugs or medication.

Personal Injury Attorneys in Des Moines

The Personal Injury Claim Process in Iowa

Iowa has a number of laws that affect personal injury claims within the state. The statute of limitations for both claims against a private entity and a government agency, such as the City of Des Moines, is two years from the date of the injury.

Iowa has a modified comparative negligence rule that prevents you from obtaining compensation if it is decided that you were more than 50% to blame for your own injuries. However, if the other party was 50% or more at fault, then you will receive a percentage of the compensation you have claimed according to how much you were judged to be at fault.

Iowa has no current caps on economic (i.e. medical expenses and lost earnings) or non-economic (i.e. pain and suffering and punitive damages) damages. Iowa has a strict dog-bite law, which means that you do not have to prove that the dog’s owner already knew that his or her dog was potentially dangerous if you are attacked.

The Des Moines County Court at 513 North Main Street, Burlington IA is the place to file a personal injury claim. The phone number is 319-753-8272.

Use a Free Claim Evaluation to Find a Suitable Attorney

It is a stressful experience dealing with an unexpected serious injury, especially when you are not sure whether you can afford to pay for treatment. A personal injury attorney can help you to obtain sufficient compensation, but which of the 250 odd attorneys is best suited to assist you in the city?

One way to find a suitable attorney is to use our free claim evaluation form available on this page for you to complete. Don’t forget that because of the state’s statute of limitations, there is a 2 year time limit in which you must file a claim.

Additional Resources

Do You Need Help Getting Justice In Your State?

Find out more below.

  • Arkansas    
  • California    
  • Connecticut    
  • Florida    
  • Georgia    
  • Idaho    
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana    
  • Maryland    
  • Massachusetts   
  • Michigan   
  • Missouri    
  • Montana    
  • Nevada    
  • New Hampshire    
  • New Jersey    
  • New Mexico    
  • New York    
  • South Carolina    
  • Texas    
  • Utah    
  • Virginia    
  • West Virginia    
  • Wisconsin    
  • Wyoming