You don’t really expect to walk out of your own home one day and end up in hospital after being injured by someone else in an avoidable accident. If you have proof that you were injured through an act of negligence you should certainly consider filing a claim against the at-fault party.
It helps to talk the matter over with an experienced personal injury attorney before actually initiating a claim.
Choosing a Personal Injury Attorney in Norfolk
There are well over 200 attorneys in Norfolk who can offer legal assistance to injured victims of accidents caused by negligence. A personal injury claim can be much more difficult than you think and you are strongly advised to discuss your case first with an experienced and licensed attorney before you finally decide to file a claim.
Typical Injuries in Norfolk Which Could Lead to a Personal Injury Claim
There are many ways that you could be injured through no fault of your own in Norfolk. Examples of some of the most common accidents are:
- traffic accidents;
- slip, trip and fall accidents;
- medical negligence;
- defective products;
- dog bites.
Traffic accidents account for more serious injuries and fatalities nationwide than any other accident type, according to the Center for Disease Control’s National Center for Health Statistics*. Injuries can easily result from a collision with another vehicle.
Most common reasons for a car crash around Norfolk include: distracted driving; speeding, failure to yield the right of way at an intersection; intoxication and aggressive and intimidating driving.
The Personal Injury Claim Process in Virginia
If you are considering making a personal injury claim it is important to ensure you have sufficient evidence to support your claim and be aware of the strict contributory negligence rules in the state as well as the statutes of limitation which restrict claims to a specific time limit.
This is 2 years for claims against a private party and 6 months for claims any government entity timed from the date of your injury.
The contributory negligence rule prevents you from obtaining any compensation at all if it is decided that you in any way contributed to your own injuries. This is something that the defendant’s insurers will try and allege to avoid having to pay compensation.
Virginia’s liability laws do not impose any caps on most economic (e.g. hospital bills) and non-economic (e.g. pain and suffering) damages except for medical negligence claims. These are capped at 2 million dollars in total, as well as a smaller amount of $350,000 for punitive damages alone.
Personal injury claims are filed with the appropriate civil court. Your attorney will advise you which court this is. The actual court may depend on the amount you are claiming.
In Norfolk, the Norfolk Circuit Court is open from 8.45 a.m. through to 4.45 p.m. on weekdays for enquiries. The Court Clerk’s office is located at St Paul’s Blvd in Norfolk.
Use a Free Claim Evaluation to Find a Suitable Personal Injury Attorney
Finding a suitable attorney in Norfolk to deal with your claim should be easy, but with over 200 seemingly suitable attorneys it can seem hard to know who to choose.
Our free claim evaluation form available below may help you make that decision. It is worth reminding you that you shouldn’t leave a claim too long because of Virginia’s statute of limitations, especially if you need to file a notice of claim with the city of Norfolk or the state government alone.