We hope you find this information helpful!

If you need help with your personal injury case, click here.

Do You Need a PI Attorney if Your Hood Was Damaged?

If you have been in an auto accident that damaged your car’s hood, you want the damage repaired. By pursuing a personal injury claim you can ask to be compensated for your losses.

It can be challenging to handle a personal injury claim against a major auto insurance company. You should consult with a personal injury lawyer who handles such claims in your area.

Damaged Hood in a Car Accident

A car accident could damage the hood of your car. Replacing the hood of your vehicle could vary significantly in price, depending on your car’s make and model. Car hoods usually range in price from $70 to $500, but then there are parts and labor charges that range from $700 to $1,900. With those being added together, it could cost from $800 to about $2,400 to have your car’s hood replaced.

Sometimes a hood might be able to get repaired. That means they can knock out dents or repair the scratches and dings. Of course, the cost of those repairs will vary greatly, but labor ranges from $80 to $150 an hour for auto body work. You should take your car to a qualified auto body repair technician for a written repair estimate for taking care of your hood damage.

How to Prove You Weren’t at Fault for the Crash

For your personal injury claim to be successful, you must show that the other party acted negligently and that caused the crash that resulted in damage to your hood. There are four elements of negligence, and your personal injury attorney will help you show that the other driver met all four elements and is liable for damages. Here are the four elements of negligence as they pertain to a car accident:

Duty – You must show that the other driver owed you a duty, or a responsibility to act in a certain way. In this case, it was to adhere to traffic regulations and drive alert.

The driver breached the duty – She was speeding and couldn’t stop in time avoid a collision. Traffic laws were violated, and the driver failed to maintain control.

Causation – Show the breach of duty caused the accident. If she hadn’t been speeding, she wouldn’t have hit you.

Damages – You will need to provide proof of your losses. This can include medical bills, the accident report, photos of damages, the towing bill, receipts for a rental car, and the written repair estimates.

Do You Need a PI Attorney if Your Hood Was Damaged?

Consult With a Personal Injury Lawyer

If an auto accident left your vehicle with a damaged hood and you suffering from various damages, you should consult with a personal injury attorney. A personal injury lawyer will take your case on a contingency basis, meaning that you will not pay out anything upfront. Your attorney will be paid when you are compensated for your losses.

There is a strict statute of limitations for pursuing a claim, so don’t wait too long. Complete the Free Case Evaluation Form today to get your claim on the right track!

Additional Resources

Do You Need Help Getting Justice In Your State?

Find out more below.


  • Arkansas    
  • California    
  • Connecticut    
  • Florida    
  • Georgia    
  • Idaho    
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana    
  • Maryland    
  • Massachusetts   
  • Michigan   
  • Missouri    
  • Montana    
  • Nevada    
  • New Hampshire    
  • New Jersey    
  • New Mexico    
  • New York    
  • South Carolina    
  • Texas    
  • Utah    
  • Virginia    
  • West Virginia    
  • Wisconsin    
  • Wyoming