Have you been injured in an auto accident in California? If so, you might be entitled to damages through a personal injury claim. Millions of car crashes occur in California every year, yielding billions of dollars of expenses for drivers.
Auto Insurance Laws in California
California auto insurance uses "pure comparative negligence," which means that you can file a personal injury claim so long as you weren't entirely at fault for a car crash. Your damages will be reduced for the percentage of fault you share for the claim.
For example, if you were rear ended by another driver but you had a broken tail light, it's likely you'll be found partially at fault for the accident. If a court found you eligible for a settlement of $10,000 but you were 30% at fault for the crash, your damages would be reduced to $7,000.
Why Does My Accident Scenario Matter?
Your auto accident scenario makes a difference in your claim due to California's negligence laws. If you caused an accident, you will not be entitled to a personal injury lawsuit.
On the other hand, if the other driver was egregiously negligent in his or her driving, you could be entitled to an even higher settlement including punitive damages.
Crash Scenarios in California
- Car Was Clipped in California
- Car Rolled Over In California
- Hit As A Pedestrian in California
- Hit By A Drunk Driver in California
- Hit By FedEx in California
- Hit While Merging in California
- Hit On A Motorcycle In California
- Hit By UPS in California
- Hit By USPS in California
- Other Driver Didn't Use Turn Signal in California
- Pile-up In California
- Ran Off the Road in California
- Rear-Ended in California
- T-Boned in California
- Who’s at Fault for a Sideswipe Accident in California?