We hope you find this information helpful!

If you need help with your personal injury case, click here.

Filing a Family Dollar Slip and Fall Claim in Florida*

If you slipped and fell at a discount store such as Family Dollar or any other discount store, you might have a strong enough case to file a Florida personal injury claim that seeks monetary damages. According to Florida slip and fall laws, you have to meet certain criteria to seek compensation for the injuries sustained while shopping at a discount store. The legal criteria fall under a legal practice called premises liability law, which holds private property owners liable for the well-being of visitors, customers, and licensees.

To ensure you enjoy every legal protection granted by Florida slip and fall statutes, you should consider hiring a state-licensed personal injury attorney.

What Are Florida Slip and Fall Laws?

Florida slip and fall laws address a wide variety of legal issues that premises liability statutes cover to protect consumers. Premises liability laws cover events that occur on private property that injure visitors, customers, and licensees that have the right to access private property without having to deal with an incident that causes them harm. A Florida slip and fall represents one of the most common types of premises liability events that cause individuals to sustain one or more injuries. The most frequently cited slip and fall causes include slick floors and entrances to businesses.

For assigning blame for a premises liability incident, Florida invokes the comparative negligence principle. Comparative negligence means each party involved in a Family Dollar or any other discount store slip and fall event assumes part of the blame for causing the incident. For example, if the judge hearing a premise liability lawsuit rules that you should assume 25 percent of the fault for causing a slip and fall on private property, then you receive $75,000 of a civil lawsuit that awards you $100,000 in monetary damages.

How Long Do I Have to File a Slip and Fall Claim Against a Discount Store in FL?

The deadline for filing a premises liability lawsuit in Florida is four years. Also called the statute of limitations, the clock starts clicking on the deadline for filing a Florida personal injury claim on the day when you slipped and fell at Family Dollar or another discount store operating in the Sunshine State. Although four years seems like plenty of time to file a persuasive civil lawsuit, you should act with a sense of urgency to receive the compensation that you deserve to pay off costly medical bills.

What Do I Need To Prove in My Claim Against a Discount Store in FL?

As a form of Florida personal injury law, premises liability cases require the plaintiff to prove the other party committed at least one act of negligence. You must demonstrate the four elements of negligence, which starts by showing the other party had a duty of care to protect you against getting hurt while on the defendant’s property. You also have to prove the defendant breached the duty of care doctrine by submitting convincing evidence. The third element of proving negligence involves linking the premises liability case to the development of your injuries. Finally, the injuries you sustained because of a slip and fall at a Family Dollar Store or any other discount business must have produced financial losses.

Complete a Free Case Evaluation Today

Learn more about your rights under Florida premises liability laws by filling out a free case evaluation.

*Disclaimer: The content of this article serves only to provide information and should not be construed as legal advice. If you file a claim against Family Dollar or any other party, you may not be entitled to any compensation.

Additional Resources

Do You Need Help Getting Justice In Your State?

Find out more below.


  • Arkansas    
  • California    
  • Connecticut    
  • Florida    
  • Georgia    
  • Idaho    
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana    
  • Maryland    
  • Massachusetts   
  • Michigan   
  • Missouri    
  • Montana    
  • Nevada    
  • New Hampshire    
  • New Jersey    
  • New Mexico    
  • New York    
  • South Carolina    
  • Texas    
  • Utah    
  • Virginia    
  • West Virginia    
  • Wisconsin    
  • Wyoming