Massachusetts is a remarkable state, one whose monuments, museums, and historical sites attract scores of visitors every year. That, on top of the fact that Massachusetts is densely populated, means that there are many drivers in the state at any given time.
This means that the roads are made up of drivers from different states, with different sensibilities, and different levels of driving experience.
The only way to level the playing field and keep everyone safe is to make sure that everyone obeys Massachusetts’s driving laws so that everyone is adhering to the same standard.
As a visitor to or resident of Massachusetts, it’s incumbent upon you to adhere to the rules in order to keep yourself--and--others safe.
Specific Rules in Massachusetts
Massachusetts has many driving laws, but these are a few of the ones that are particularly important to know and adhere to.
Seat belts: In Massachusetts, both drivers and passengers 13 and older have to wear seatbelts in all seats (though not having a seatbelt in the backseat is only a secondary offense). All children 7 years and younger and shorter than 57” have to be in a child safety restraint system.
Drunk driving: A person driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more could end up with a DUI conviction. Although ignition interlock devices (IIDs) are not mandatory for first-time offenders, they are mandatory for repeat offenders.
Open container laws: Drivers and passengers cannot have open containers of alcohol in the passenger area of the vehicle. The non-passenger areas include a locked glove box, the trunk of the car, and the area behind the last row of seats (if you’re in a vehicle that doesn’t have a designated trunk).
Distracted driving: Texting while driving is banned in Massachusetts, and any use of a handheld device is prohibited for drivers under 18. However, passengers 18 and over are allowed to use cell phones to make phone calls.
Open Container Laws and Your Massachusetts Auto Accident
Although you might follow Massachusetts’s rules, that doesn’t necessarily mean that other drivers will. One day, you may end up in a collision with a careless driver--one severe enough to break your arm.
If that driver hit you and happened to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger area of her car, then that could bolster the chances of you filing a successful personal injury claim.
Massachusetts is a no-fault state, and this means that you would normally file with your own insurance company for accident compensation-- not with the other driver or her insurance company.
That really limits your ability to file a personal injury claim, unless your injuries are particularly severe or your medical expenses amount to more than $2,000.
If they total more than that, you can actually file a personal injury claim, and doing that will be simpler with the help of an attorney.
Hiring a Personal injury Lawyer
Recovering from an injury is difficult enough; you shouldn’t make yourself put together a personal injury claim case on top of that. Allow yourself to get back on your feet after your injury, and in the meantime, contact a personal injury attorney.
An experienced attorney can argue your case on your behalf so that you can place all of your energy into getting yourself back into good health. You deserve that.