If you were not fully to blame for your accident in Oxnard you may find you are entitled to claim personal compensation to cover the financial hardship of the accident.
In California even if you admit to being partly to blame for the accident you may still be able to get some compensation. These sorts of payments provide you with the added security you need when you are handed big medical bills to pay.
The rules in California, when filing a personal injury claim, include time limits which are imposed from the date of the injury. Because of the complexity of personal injury claims it’s important to make contact with a personal injury lawyer in Oxnard before going through the process.
Choosing a Personal Injury Lawyer in Oxnard
There are around 100 lawyers in Oxnard who offer personal injury legal help. It is advisable to use a state licensed attorney who specializes in personal injury law.
A lawyer can help you decide whether you have enough evidence to make a personal injury claim and whether the financial compensation is worthwhile and then negotiate on your behalf with the person at fault’s insurer.
Typical Injuries in Oxnard
Oxnard has as many busy highways and roads as any other city in California. At some time or other you may be confronted with a traffic accident Even if you are the most careful driver you can’t avoid every potential accident.
There are several reasons for vehicle collisions with three main categories which are:
- Poor care and maintenance of a vehicle which can lead dangerous situations such as brake failure, incorrectly inflated tires, worn down tires, and suspension and steering failures.
- Poor road design and maintenance can cause hazardous driving conditions increasing the chances of a collision taking place and placing drivers and their passengers at risk of injuries from a collision. Road debris left to lie on the roads, faded road signage and the presence of potholes can cause unexpected accidents as well.
- Driver behavior, such as distracted driving, DUI and road rage can cause serious accidents.
- All vehicle accidents can cause serious injuries like broken limbs, back and spinal injuries and debilitating whiplash.
The Personal Injury Claim Process in California
California law has clear directives when it comes to filing for personal injury compensation. Your chances of winning a successful personal injury claim is dependent on the right evidence being made available as well as ensuring the claim is submitted within California’s time limits.
In addition, California personal injury law allows for comparative negligence to be considered. This means that even if you are either partly or mostly to blame for the accident that brought about your injuries, you could still be entitled to a proportion of a compensation claim.
You are given 2 years from the date of the injury to file a personal injury claim as long as the injury was caused by a private individual, a business or other non-government organization. However, if the blame is due to negligence by a government employee or agency then only 6 months as a time limit is given from the date of the injury.
Personal injury claims are civil claims and are filed with the relevant civil court. For Oxnard these claims are heard in the Superior Court of Ventura County, 800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura. The court is open from 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday.
Use a Free Claim Evaluation to Find a Suitable Personal Injury Lawyer
It’s not a simple matter dealing with a personal injury claim. Insurers in particular are far more likely to offer less than the full value of the claim if a lawyer is not part of the negotiating process. It is a good idea to leave any negotiating to an experienced personal injury lawyer as a more favorable outcome is more likely to be achieved.
That’s when our free claim evaluation form can be of real help as it will help you locate a suitable lawyer from the 100 available in Oxnard. Just complete the form found on the side of this page.