The public transportation department of Wichita, Wichita Transit, operates transit bus and paratransit services within the city. Wichita Transit has 51 transit buses and 26 wheelchair vans operating on 17 routes throughout the City of Wichita. The transit agency reports about two million yearly fixed route trips and about 320,800 paratransit trips each year. The city also uses a few replica trolleys to operate the Q Line shuttle service through the downtown area and adjoining areas in conjunction with the Wichita Downtown Development Corporation. The shuttles usually run during evenings and weekends for recreational events and major conventions. If you have been involved in an accident with Wichita Transit and believe that negligence on behalf of a transit company employee caused your injuries, you might be able to recover compensation by pursuing a personal injury claim.
What Kinds of Damages Might be Suffered in an Accident with Wichita Transit?
If you were in an accident involving a Wichita Transit bus, you could have suffered life-altering injuries. As with any accident, notify the proper authorities. Make sure an accident report is completed. Take photos of the accident scene, if possible, and be sure to get the names of and contact details for any witnesses. You will need to maintain thorough documentation to support your claim as well. Keep copies of medical bills, medical reports, and damage repair estimates. Document missed work and lost wages. Here are some common damages that might be claimed in such accidents:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Past and future lost wages
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Property damages
- Loss of consortium
- Permanent scarring and disfigurement
Pursuing a Personal Injury Claim against Wichita Transit
Pursuing a personal injury claim against a government entity is different than pursuing a claim against an individual. Government entities have sovereign immunity, but state legislation allows claims to be brought for specific reasons and when negligence can be proven. Kansas law doesn’t allow general compensatory damages to exceed $325,000. A wrongful death claim cannot exceed $250,000. You will need to file a Claims for Damages form that has been completed in detail and provide all the supporting documentation for your claim. The claim will be investigated and within six to eight weeks you will receive notice of denial, an offer to settle, or another resolution. If you aren’t happy with the decision, you can then file a lawsuit.
Consult with a Personal Injury Attorney
If you have been injured in an accident with Wichita Transit, you should consult with a personal injury attorney who is licensed in Kansas. Because of the complexity of such claims, you need a lawyer who is familiar with the state and local laws and who can help you gather up evidence and documentation in support of your claim. Your chances of a successful claim increase significantly with an attorney representing you. And, you have nothing to lose since accident injury attorneys work on a contingency basis. Get your free case evaluation today!
The content of this article serves only to provide information and should not be construed as legal advice. If you file a claim against Wichita Transit, or any other party, you may not be entitled to any compensation.